J Mascis has announced a new solo album: What We Do Now is out February 2 via Sub Pop. Accompanying the album announcement is a music video for the lead single “Can’t Believe We’re Here,” which features David Cross, Amber Tamblyn, Fred Armisen, Todd Barry, Eugene Mirman, Clare O’Kane, Damian Abraham, and Mascis’ Dinosaur Jr. bandmate Lou Barlow. The album is Mascis’ first solo full-length since 2018’s Elastic Days. Watch the video below.

“When I’m writing for the band, I’m always trying to think of doing things Lou and Murph would fit into,” Mascis said in a statement. “For myself, I’m thinking more about what I can do with just an acoustic guitar, even for the leads. Of course, this time, I added full drums and electric leads, although the rhythm parts are still all acoustic. Usually, I try to do the solo stuff more simply so I can play it by myself, but I really wanted to add the drums. Once that started, everything else just fell into place. So it ended up sounding a lot more like a band record. I dunno why I did that exactly, but it’s just what happened.”

Mascis recruited Ken Maiuri (of the B-52’s) to play keys and Matthew “Doc” Dunn to perform steel guitar on What We Do Now.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

What Do We Do Now:

01 Can’t Believe We’re Here
02 What Do We Do Now
03 Right Behind You
04 You Don’t Understand Me
05 I Can’t Find You
06 Old Friends
07 It’s True
08 Set Me Down
09 Hangin Out
10 End Is Gettin Shaky

By ogqqg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *